"A safe, inclusive and equitable digital future is essential for progress and peace… [and underpins] a digitally interdependent world that ‘Connects, Respects and Protects’ all people, in which all can thrive, and in which digital tools do not cause harm or reinforce inequalities but instead are a force for good."   -  António Guterres, Secretary-General of the United Nations

World events such as the COVID-19 pandemic and Ukrainian invasion have highlighted the importance of digital technologies to keep societies functioning and all segments of the population connected. Available data reveals that this is especially important for older persons. Barriers to digital equity for older persons are largely related to 1. Age Inclusive  Design2. Broadband Access, and 3. Digital Literacy. 

Today fewer than half of older persons are online. Experts agree that barriers to digital inclusion will only increase as global populations age, with estimates that by the year 2050, more than 2 billion people will be aged 60 years and over. 

And though solving digital inequity is a human rights imperative, doing so also creates more opportunity and advancement for entire populations who will become wealthier consumers and a better educated workforce.  

To identify and address challenges related to digital inequity, AARP has partnered with the Office of the Secretary-General’s Envoy for Technology at the United Nations to create and convene an ecosystem of public- and private-sector leaders, civil society influencers, and multilateral changemakers to advance digital equity for older persons as a growing priority of the United Nations and international community, including in the implementation of the Secretary-General’s Roadmap and forthcoming Global Digital Compact 

Roundtable Goals 

         1) Collaborate on ideas to advance digital inclusion for older persons through overcoming barriers 
         
2) Share a variety of successful initiatives, models, partnerships, technologies and policies that are helping to address digital equity barriers for present back to the UN Network-of-Networks 
         
3) Raise visibility for incorporating older persons into all digital equity efforts at the United Nations and beyond
         
4) Disseminate opportunities, best practices, policy recommendations, and implementation strategies via post-meeting briefs and reports 
         
5) Commence the ‘Network for the Digital Inclusion of Older Persons’ as a member of the UN’s Network-of-Networks 

Join The Conversation  

To engage with this network before, during, and after the event, please follow and contribute to the exclusive closed-door Network for the Digital Inclusion of Older Persons LinkedIn Group. 
Adding a line here>>>

Adding a line here>>>

Digital Literacy Agenda 
July 20, 2022

 

On July 20, 2022, AARP is hosting a 2-hour long virtual closed-door expert roundtable discussion addressing Digital Literacy for older persons to better empower individuals of all ages to confidently find, evaluate, and clearly communicate information through use of digital technologies. 

This discussion will be closed-captioned, conducted in English and allow for real-time AI-generated translation to and from English and multiple other languages.

 

AGENDA  

START (UTC)

START
(EDT)  

Welcome and Opportunity Description  

23:00 UTC

7:00 PM
EDT

Expert Panel   

23:10 UTC   

7:10 PM
EDT

Interactive Breakout Workgroups   

23:40 UTC   

7:40 PM
EDT

Workgroup Reports and next steps   

00:20 UTC      

8:20 PM
EDT

 

The roundtable will focus on unpacking the following: 

1) What does success look like? 
2) What success stories have you seen?  
3) What policies, metrics, best practices, standards and/or partnerships would best address at a national and/or international level?  


Adding a line here>>>

Contact Us

Please contact us with any questions or comments at rt@aarp.org 

Close